Skip to main content

MediaEd Forum

MediaEd Forum

Friday, January 12, 2024

Conference starts at 8am PST | 11pm ET | 4pm GMT | 6pm GMT+2 | 9:30pm IST | 3am (Sat 01.13) AEST

PST 8am
EST 11am

GMT 4pm GMT+2 6pm

IST 9:30pm

(Sat 01.13) AEST 3am

Opening Session

Join our growing community of learners discussing all media literacy issues. In this online plenary session opening our conference, we will meet participants and learn from each other using various interactive online activities to introduce the speakers and innovative session formats. Not only will you make new colleagues from all over the globe, but you will be able to better understand what sessions you want to participate in. 

NOTE: If you miss a session, the videos will be available at the end of each day via Zoom Cloud Recordings.

 
Session A
Session B

PST 9am
EST 12pm

GMT 5pm GMT+2 7pm

IST 10:30pm

(Sat 01.13) AEST 4am

Kids Learning Media In Elementary School 

Join elementary students, teachers, and administrators as they showcase their success in integrating Media Literacy across the curriculum, in their school and district. 

Panelists

  • William Yang
  • Paul Tomizawa
  • Shoshana Cooper
  • Sue Luft¬†
  • And their students

Engaged Research 

This panel will discuss what does Engaged Research mean for Media Literacy scholars? Successful examples/models and areas of social life to address.

Panelists

  • Mike Spikes¬†
  • Sisanda Nkoala¬†
  • Alison Trope

PST 10am
EST 1pm

GMT 6pm GMT+2 8pm 

IST 11:30pm

(Sat 01.13) AEST 5am

Games for Media Education

This session engages participants in a dialogue on the use of games to address social issues and how research-based gamification can benefit educators and learners. 

Speakers

  • PaweŇā Miechowski¬†
  • Konstantina Kostadinova Yaneva

Tailoring Participatory-Media Interventions for Youth

Two projects based in participatory, cooperative research use media as a medium to explore topics of place-making and identity with youth in Oslo and Rotterdam.

Speakers 

  • Anne van Eldik¬†
  • Larisa Ozeryansky

PST 11am EST 2pm 

GMT 7pm
GMT+2 9pm 

(Sat 01.13) IST 00:30am AEST 6am

Media Literacy in Education Policy

This session explores the standardized state-level policies of Media Literacy Education (MLE) in the U.S. through survey insights on challenges in implementation.

Speakers

  • Daniela Kruel DiGiacomo
  • Alice Huguet

Empowering Students through Media Creation

In this dialogue, we will review Student-created media assignments and discuss some effective approaches for post-classroom activism and classroom preparations.  

Speaker

  • Scott Spicer

PST 12pm EST 3pm

GMT 8pm

GMT+2 10pm 

(Sat 01.13) IST 1:30am AEST 7am

MediaEd Dialogues Session 1

Join us for a participant-driven dialogue.

Facilitator

  • Renee Hobbs

 

Cranky Uncle Game to Counter Misinformation

Games offer a way to inoculate people against misinformation in an interactive and scalable way, combining  psychological and critical thinking research with games and cartoons.

Speaker

  • John Cook
Conference day ends at 1pm PST | 4pm EST | 9pm GMT | 11pm GMT +2 | 2:30am IST | 8am AEST on Jan 13th

 

Saturday January 13, 2024

Conference starts at 4am PST | 7am ET | 12pm GMT | 2pm GMT+2 | 5:30pm IST | 11pm AEST

Conferences
Session A
Session B

PST 4am 

‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚ÄčEST 7am¬†

 

GMT 12pm 

GMT+2 2pm 

 

IST ‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč5:30pm

 

AEST 11pm

Media Literacy in Palestine Now & Then

In this session we will learn what media literacy education for adults is in Palestine and how the Gaza war has affected the training. 

Speaker 

  • Anne Tastula

The Role of Knowledge in Media Literacy Education

This session questions the nature of knowledge and skills needed to be media literate, and the way that we characterize these phenomena within media education.

Speaker

  • Steve Connolly

PST 5am 

‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚ÄčEST 8am¬†

GMT 1pm 

GMT+2 3pm 

IST ‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč 6:30pm

 

(Sun 01.14)

AEST 12am

Scaling Media Literacy 

This session will showcase various projects from IREX on how to scale media literacy initiatives and civic participation to various communities around the globe.

Speakers 

  • Jocelyn Young¬†
  • Alan Berry
  • Olena Taranenko
  • Yuliia Marhasova
  • Maryna Dorosh¬†
  • Dejan Dokuzovski

Media Literacy in Times of War

This dialogue aims to encourage media literacy practitioners to speak openly about political/military conflict in areas such as Israel and Nagorno-Karabakh with hands-on exercises.

Speakers 

  • Keren Ayali Ketko
  • Anna Kozlowska¬†
  • Lusine Grigoryan

PST 6am 

‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚ÄčEST 9am¬†

GMT 2pm 

GMT+2 4pm 

IST ‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč 7:30pm

 

(Sun 01.14)

AEST 1am

Implementing Media Literacy Education

In this dialogue between Dr. Devina Sarwatay and Dr. David Gracon, participants will hear about two strategies to implement critical media literacy in the classroom.

Panelists

  • Devina Sarwatay
  • David Gracon

Grants & Funding

Panelists in this session will discuss sources of grants, the process of finding and applying for international project support, and ways to apply for grants.

Panelists 

  • Kaspars RŇęklis
  • Keegan Scott

PST 7am 

‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚ÄčEST 10am¬†

GMT 3pm 

GMT+2 5pm 

IST ‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč 8:30pm

 

(Sun 01.14)

AEST 2am

Media Literacy and AI Policy

Focusing on the intersections between human and AI, this dialogue will feature policies to help navigate safely and ethically in the new media reality.

Panelists

  • Irine Andriopoulou
  • Carolyn Fortuna
  • Michelle Ciccone

Applying the Media Literacy Index

The Media Literacy Index (2021) was designed to evaluate the level of media literacy skills and practices. This session will showcase how to use it.  

Panelists

  • Erin McNeil
  • Pam Steager
  • Jean LaBelle-Pierce
  • Gracie Gilligan¬†

PST 8am 

‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚ÄčEST 11am¬†

GMT 4pm 

GMT+2 6pm 

IST ‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč 9:30pm

 

(Sun 01.14)

AEST 3am

MediaEd Dialogues Session 2
Join us for a participant-driven dialogue.

Facilitator

  • Renee Hobbs¬†
     

Students’ Right to Freedom of Expression

Lex Societas is the world's first high school pre-law honor society, dedicated to expanding youth engagement in law through advocacy and education.

Speakers

  • Arun Nayakkar¬†
  • Frank LoMonte

PST 9am 

‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚ÄčEST 12pm¬†

GMT 5pm 

GMT+2 7pm 

IST ‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč 10:30pm

(Sun 01.14)

AEST 4am

Closing Session

In our last online plenary session, we will reflect on the knowledge we gained and work in breakout rooms toward a work plan for the next global MediaEd Forum in 2025. By the end of the session, we will reconvene as one group to share insights and offer our call for action until we meet again.

Conference ends at 10am PST | 1pm EST | 6pm GMT | 8pm GMT+2 |‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč 11:30pm IST | 5 am AEST on Jan 14